Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley in January ’15

Before The Sun Goes Down - Rob Ickes & Trey HensleyCompass Records has announced January 13, 2015 as the release date for Before The Sun Goes Down, the upcoming CD from Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley.

It’s a fun album, that mixes hard driving bluegrass with classic country based around Trey’s strong voice and flatpicking skills, and Rob’s unquestioned mastery of the resonator slide guitar. This is a full band project, with top Nashville pickers and singers filling the bill.

The track listing includes:

  1. Before the Sun Goes Down
  2. Lightning
  3. I’d Rather Be Gone
  4. Georgia on a Fast Train
  5. My Way is the Highway
  6. Workin’ Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today
  7. When My Last Song is Sung
  8. Pride and Joy
  9. More Than Roses
  10. Raisin’ the Dickens
  11. Misery
  12. Little Cabin on the Hill
  13. There Ain’t No Good Chain Gang

Prior to the album release, Rob and Trey have scheduled a brief west coast duo tour in the first half of December.

  • 12/4/14 – Royal Room – Seattle, WA
  • 12/5/14 – Green Frog – Bellingham, WA
  • 12/6/14 – Treehouse – Leavenworth, CA
  • 12/7/14 – Little River Inn – Little River, CA
  • 12/9/14 – Tallman Hotel – Upper Lake, CA
  • 12/11/14 – Don Quixote’s – Felton, CA
  • 12/12/14 – Boulevard Music – Culver City, CA
  • 12/13/14 – Powerhouse – Del Mar, CA

Trey has recorded previously on his own, and generated a good bit of notice for his participation on the current Blue Highway album, The Game, on which he sings My Last Day In The Mine. His Merle Haggard-inflected country voice is the perfect complement to this coal mining number, and he’s sure to win a whole big bunch of new fans when Before The Sun Goes Down hits in the new year.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.