Only Me from Rhonda Vincent

Upper Management Music has announced January 28, 2014 as the release date for Only Me, the next album from Rhonda Vincent.

Long time fans know that Rhonda has jumped back and forth between the country and bluegrass markets all her life, and this project is meant to answer the question, “Is she a bluegrass or a country singer?” The answer is both!

This two-disc set offers a selection of both styles, with six bluegrass songs on disc 1, and six country ones on number 2. In an interesting twist, high-profile guest country vocalists Willie Nelson and Daryle Singletary both appear on the bluegrass side of the project.

The bluegrass disc was recorded with Rhonda’s road band, The Rage. Hunter Berry is on fiddle, Mickey Harris on bass, Aaron McDaris on banjo, Brent Burke on reso-guitar, and Josh Williams on guitar. Vincent plays mandolin and sings lead.

Speaking of the title track, on which he sang and played a guitar solo, Willie says…

Rhonda Vincent and Willie Nelson“The bluegrass pickers on this song are some of the best that I have ever heard. When I think of bluegrass, this is the sound that I hear.

Rhonda’s voice is beautiful. I am thankful for her letting me be a part of it all.”

Here a track listing for the bluegrass disc:

  • Busy City
  • I’d Rather Hear I Don’t Love You (Than Nothing At All)
  • Only Me (featuring Willie Nelson)
  • I Need Somebody Bad Tonight
  • We Must Have Been Out of Our Minds (featuring Daryle Singletary)
  • It’s Never Too Late 

For the country disc, Rhonda brings in a bevy of Music City session pros. Tim Crouch is on fiddle, Kevin Grantt on bass, Carl Jackson on acoustic guitar, Mike Johnson on steel, Catherine Marx and Michael Rojas on piano, James Mitchell on electric guitar, and Lonnie Wilson on drums.

For this CD, the tracks are:

  • Teardrops Over You
  • Once A Day
  • Beneath Still Waters
  • Bright Lights & Country Music
  • When The Grass Grows Over Me
  • Drivin’’Nails

Should be a good’n.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.