Live album coming from Town Mountain

Live At The Isis - Town MountainTown Mountain has always been known as a band that is best experienced live. That’s not a knock on their three fine studio albums, just a recognition from their fans that it’s a show that needs to be seen as well as heard.

So it’s no surprise that their next project is a live album, due August 19. Live At The Isis was recorded in the band’s hometown of Asheville, NC at Isis Music Hall. It contains live versions of several songs from their previous records, plus a number of covers that are staples of their stage set.

Track listing follows:

  • You Weighed Heavy On My Heart
  • Four Miles
  • Tarheel Boys
  • Up the Ladder
  • Lawdog
  • 5 Shots of Whiskey
  • The Race Is On
  • Texas/New Mexico Line
  • Sugar Mama
  • Orange Blossom Special

Here’s a taste of their live sound, on a song not included on the next CD.


Town Mountain consists of Phil Barker on mandolin, Robert Greer on guitar, Jesse Langlais on banjo, Bobby Britt on fiddle, and Nick DiSebastian on bass.

The lads haven’t completely abandoned the studio, however, and have plans for a new album of original material next Spring.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.