EBMA announces new Board of Directors

EBMA Board members Richard Ciferský, Susie Bowe, Stu Vincent and Eugene O'BrienThe European Bluegrass Music Association has selected several new members for their Board of Directors.

At their annual meeting at the Munich Bluegrass Festival earlier this month, four current members left the Board: Angelika Torrie, Rienk Janssen, Petr Brandejs and Christopher Howard-Williams. Their departures were anticipated, but not the resignation of Dagfinn Pederson which came unexpectedly.

Three new members were elected: Richard Ciferský, Stu Vincent, and Eugene O’Brien.

Richard is a banjo player and radio programmer from Slovak Republic, who has toured extensively across Europe and the US. Radio is also Stu’s bluegrass gig, and both he and Richard have worked closely with EBMA for several years. Eugene is an Irishman living now in Belgium. He also plays banjo, and is a member of popular band Sons Of Navarone.

Angelika Torrie will continue to serve as editor for Bluegrass Europe, the official publication of the EBMA, and Rienk Janssen will continue to manage membership details. Petr Brandejs has consented to remain as consultant to the organization’s scholarship program.

Staying on are current Directors Susie Bowe, Martino Coppo and Chris Keenan. Each board term lasts for one year, and multiple terms may be served.

More information on the work of the EBMA can be found online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.