Bluegrass Museum names new Officers

IBMM outgoing Chairman Peter Salovey (center) with new Trustees Mike Simpson (left) and Terry Woodward (right)The International Bluegrass Music Museum has announced new leadership of their Board of Trustees following last week’s board meeting in Owensboro, KY. Elected to new one-years terms as officers are Mike Simpson (Chairman), Terry Woodward (Vice-Chairman), Rosemary Conder (Secretary), and Chris Love (Treasurer).

The Board also expressed their gratitude to six Trustees who are rotating out of service: current Chairman, Dr. Peter Salovey; Secretary, Terry Gold; Executive Committee member, Gill Holland and Trustees, Dr. Richard Brown, Larry Harrington and Jesse McReynolds.

Salovey, who was recently named as the new President of Yale University, says he has enjoyed every minute of his time with IBMM.

Outgoing IBMM Trustees Larry Harrington, Dr. Peter Salovey, and Gill Holland“It truly has been a privilege to serve as a Trustee of the International Bluegrass Music Museum for the past six years. For me, it has been a ‘labor of love’ as I have so enjoyed honoring the history of a musical genre that I have embraced since my teenage years. I am proud that we have come so far with the planning and fundraising for the new Center. And it has been a pleasure making so many new friends through my IBMM board service. Owensboro has become a kind of second home, and I can’t wait to come back for ROMP in a couple of months.”

The Board, and the Museum staff, will have their hands full with construction slated to begin this fall on their new $15.3 million International Bluegrass Music Center, which is expected to open to the public in 2017. The Center will house the museum and all its exhibits, plus executive offices, a restaurant, a concert hall, classrooms, and a research library.

Both the City of Owensboro and the State of Kentucky have made large donations to see the Center completed, so expectations are high.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.