A Fiddler’s Holiday – Jay Ungar and Molly Mason

A Fiddler's Holiday - Jay Ungar and Molly Mason

Rounder Records has announced a November 20 release for A Fiddler’s Holiday, a live concert recording from The Jay Ungar & Molly Mason Family Band. It was recorded and videotaped with the University of Mary Washington Philharmonic Orchestra in Fredericksburg, VA for a PBS holiday special this December.

Jay Ungar has been known for many years as a versatile fiddler, accomplished in a variety of traditional music styles. He burst into the wider public consciousness in 1990 when his tune, Ashokan Farewell, was selected by documentary filmmaker Ken Burns for his epic miniseries, The Civil War.

He and Molly Mason perform together with Molly on guitar, and with their Family Band which includes Jay’s daughter, Ruthy, on second fiddle and her husband, Mike, on banjo and percussion. They all share in the singing.

For this concert recording they assembled holiday music from both the Christian and Jewish traditions, arranged for string band and orchestra. Tracks include:

  • The Solstice Set
  • A Rovin’ on a Winter’s Night
  • The Snowstorm
  • Christmas Eve
  • Ashokan Farewell
  • Themes from Harvest Home Suite
  • Darkest Days, Brightest Nights
  • Waltz of the Little Girls’ Toys
  • Lights of Chanukah
  • Silent Night
  • Silent Night Two Step

For a taste of what is to come, watch this video created to promote both the CD and the television special.


Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.