2013 Central Canadian Bluegrass Award winners

Central Canadian Bluegrass AwardThe winners of the 35th annual Central Canadian Bluegrass Award were announced in Huntsville, ON this past weekend.

Voting for nominees and winners is limited to members of the Northern Bluegrass Committee, who sponsor the awards, or one of six regional bluegrass clubs in Central Canada.

Congratulations to this year’s winners.

  • Bluegrass DJ: David Blakney (Windsor)
  • Banjo Player: Luke Puckrin (Hard Ryde)
  • Fiddle Player: Randy Morrison (Flatt River)
  • Bass Player: Matt Naveau (Canucky Bluegrass Boys)
  • Guitar Player: Steve Piticco (Pine Road)
  • Mandolin Player: Will Meadows (Hard Ryde)
  • Dobro Player: Ken Robichaud (Winterline)
  • Female Vocalist: Joyce Gagnon (Winterline)
  • Male Vocalist: Jim McNulty (Traditionally Wound)
  • Composer: Melissa Sherman (Hard Ryde/Independent)
  • Promising Group: Rescue Junction
  • Instrumental Group: Traditionally Wound
  • Recording: “A Part of Me” –  Carol Simpson/ Hard Ryde
  • Vocal Group: Rhyme N Reason
  • Gospel Group: Rhyme N Reason
  • Overall Group: Traditionally Wound
  • Entertainer: Ken Robichaud (Winterline)
  • Mentorship Award: Garry Greenland
  • Honour Roll: Doug VanDen Kieboom – for winning Dobro Player 5 Times

More details on the Northern Bluegrass Committee and its member organizations can be found online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.