Two more from the Rebel Vault

Rebel Records has two new digital reissues which were released last week.

We have on many occasions tipped our cap to the Rebel folks for their ongoing efforts to digitize and re-release their rich back catalog of classic bluegrass, generally at the rate of two per month. These two late April offerings capture a pair of legendary performers, Bill Harrell and Larry Sparks, with snapshots of their music in the early 1980s.

Lonesome Guitar is a cherished classic for fans of Larry Sparks’ lead guitar playing. Long celebrated for his distinctive, soulful singing, Larry is also a fine guitarist, noted for his gritty, somewhat-funky solos and driving rhythm.

Sparks is supported on this all-instrumental album by his son Larry D. Sparks on bass, John Masters on banjo, Josh Graves on dobro, and a young Stuart Duncan on mandolin and fiddle, in his only recording with The Lonesome Ramblers.

The 12 tracks consists of a number of traditional fiddle tunes, and one Sparks original.

  • Chittlin Cookin’ Time in Cheatum County
  • Faded Love
  • The Old Spinning Wheel
  • Ramblin’ Guitar
  • In The Garden
  • Florida Blues
  • Carrol County Blues
  • Time Changes Everything
  • Buffalo Gals
  • Farewell Blues
  • Under The Double Eagles
  • Low and Lonely

You can hear audio samples in iTunes.

Also new in digital audio is I Can Hear Virginia Calling Me from Bill Harrell & The Virginians. Originally released on LP in 1980, the record include the iconic vocalist with Carl Nelson on fiddle, Darrell Sanders on banjo, Ed Ferris on bass, Mike Auldridge on dobro, and Larry Stephenson on mandolin.

This first Harrell project for Rebel features 12 tracks with his strong, traditional bluegrass band.

  • Green Rolling Hills
  • Let Me Make You Smile Again
  • Amy
  • Martinsburg March
  • Time Clock Of Life
  • I Can Hear Virginia Calling Me
  • Lonesome With Heartaches
  • Something In The Wind
  • A Visit to Mother’s Grave
  • I Can Get The Blues When It Rains
  • When The Saints Go Marching In
  • I Want To Go Back To The Mountains

Audio samples for I Can Hear Virginia Calling Me are also available in iTunes.