SOIMF and JDMC support Leadership Bluegrass

Ted Lewallen with his new Martin D-16 and Joe Mullins at the Fall 2015 Southern Ohio Indoor Music FestivalThanks to the generosity of attendees at the Fall 2015 Southern Ohio Indoor Music Festival, and the kind folks at Janet Davis Acoustic Music, Joe Mullins sent a check this week to the IBMA for $2,000 in support of the organization’s Leadership Bluegrass program.

Janet Davis donated a new Martin D-16 guitar, which was offered in a raffle during the festival. The winning entry belonged to Ted Lewallen of Rudolph, OH who took it home in a custom case.

Leadership Bluegrass is IBMA’s professional development program, which brings a couple dozen industry pros to Nashville each year for an intensive, three-day seminar. Issues relevant to the bluegrass music industry are explored with prominent facilitators, and registrants selected from among the many applications received make new connections that are designed to identify potential leaders in the business.

Scholarship assistance is offered for attendees for whom the fee and costs for accommodations might be a burden, and that is the destination for the funds Mullins sent along.

He says his own attendance last year sparked his desire to raise money for the event.

“As a recent LBG graduate, I REALLY enjoyed the program and saw so many benefits that all provide lasting value and of course leadership to the bluegrass community. With a loyal following of thousands of fans at my band’s twice annual festivals, we are delighted to find a way to ‘pay it forward’ in raising funds for one of the keystone projects of the International Bluegrass Music Association.”

Applications have closed for the 2016 class, and the successful candidates will be announced early next year.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.