Open Rail takes IAME Award

open_railWhen the winners were announced on October 8 at the 2016 International Musician & Entertainment Association Awards in Murfreesboro, TN, Open Rail from Gallipolis, OH was named as Bluegrass Group of the Year.

The band consists of Don Titus on banjo, Shane Lail on guitar, John Cardwell on mandolin, and Brian Ison on bass. All four sing lead and harmony vocals.

IAME awards are given to independent artists across all genres of contemporary music and theater, with nominees selected by a committee of professionals and finally decided by online fan and member voting. Any member of the organization, which is dedicated to promotion of independent efforts in the arts, is eligible for consideration.

Other nominees this year for the Bluegrass Group award included Kathy Boyd & Phoenix Rising, whose song Let Her Roll won for Bluegrass Song of the Year, Kevin Pace & Early Edition whose won Bluegrass Album of the Year for I Want To Go Home, and Ned Crisp & Bottomline.

Well done all!

Here is a video of them from last month at the Blazin’ Bluegrass Festival in Kentucky.


Open Rail is represented by Bella Johnson with Echo Mountain Entertainment.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.