Jim & Jesse Radio Shows on Rural Rhythm

Rural Rhythm has planned a March 4 ship date for their latest classic bluegrass reissue, Radio Shows, from Jim & Jesse & the Virginia Boys.

Initially released as a 2 LP set in 1962 on Jim & Jesse’s own Old Dominion label, this CD contains all 24 tracks from the original, plus the live into and outro from a radio appearance. The album was marketed following their success on radio at WBAM in Montgomery, AL, and included the most commonly requested songs from listeners at the time.

Two years later, the McReynolds moved to WSM in Nashville, sponsored by Martha White, which launched the band into the national market. It could be argued that their strong following in Montgomery, and the influence of this recording, were the catalyst for the Nashville move and the widespread popularity that followed.

In addition to featuring the lovely vocal harmonies of Jim and Jesse McReynolds, and Jesse’s iconic mandolin playing, this disc highlights Allen Shelton on banjo, Jim Buchanan on fiddle, Don McHan on 2nd guitar, and David Southerland on bass.

Radio Shows includes the following tracks:

  • Intro
  • Diesel Train
  • Going Like Wildfire
  • Snowflake Breakdown
  • The Family Who Prays Together
  • ’Til These Dreams Come True
  • Everything She Touches Gets The Blues
  • Sitting On Top Of The World
  • Have You Lost Your Love For Me?
  • Bluegrass Breakdown
  • Press On O’ Pilgrim
  • Bye Bye Blues
  • Don’t This Road Look Rough And Rocky
  • On The Mississippi Shore
  • How Do You Talk To A Baby
  • Beer Barrel Polka
  • Will There Be Any Stars In My Crown
  • I Cried Again
  • I Can’t Help Wondering
  • There’s More Pretty Girls Than One
  • On The Banks Of The Ohio
  • Cheyenne
  • Precious Memories
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • Heartaches and Flowers
  • So Long ‘Til Next Time

As a bonus, purchase on the CD will allow access to a video interview with Jesse McReynolds where he discusses the pivotal time in their career which this recording captures. A QR code on the back cover will take you to the video online.

Thanks to Rural Rhythm for bringing back this historic project during 2014,  when the 50th anniversary of Jim & Jesse’s first joining the Grand Ole Opry is being marked. Radio Shows will be available where bluegrass music is sold.

The album is available to radio programmers now at Airplay Direct.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.