James King – Three Chords and the Truth

James King - Three Chords and the TruthRounder Records has announced a September 30 release for Three Chords And The Truth, a country music tribute project from James King.

Fear not, traditional bluegrass fans; the Bluegrass Storyteller isn’t going country. But he has picked a dozen favorites from the classic country catalog for hard-edged bluegrass treatment on the upcoming album. Included are songs popularized by Hank Williams, Don Gibson, Jim Reeves, Cal Smith, Waylon Jennings and Harlan Howard.

Assisting were Josh Williams on guitar, Ron Stewart on banjo, Jesse Brock on mandolin, Jason Moore on bass, and Jimmy Mattingly on fiddle. Dudley Connell and Don Rigsby handled the harmony vocals.

A full track listing follows:

  1. The Devil’s Train
  2. Jason’s Farm
  3. Chiseled In Stone
  4. Highway To Nowhere
  5. Talkin’ To The Wall
  6. He Stopped Loving Her Today
  7. Blue Blue Day
  8. Riding With Private Malone
  9. Things Have Gone To Pieces
  10. Sunday Morning Christian
  11. Shadows Of My Mind
  12. Old Five And Dimers

There are no audio samples available yet, but you can expect them before long. This should be a keeper for fans of the old time bluegrass sound.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.