IBMA congratulates Leadership Bluegrass 2016

Leadership Bluegrass class of 2016 - photo by Riley MathewsLast week in Nashville, the International Bluegrass Music Association welcomed 26 participants in their annual Leadership Bluegrass program for an intensive, three-day program designed to help identify and nature leaders in all aspects of bluegrass music.

The 26 were chosen from more than 60 applicants for this year’s course, which combines training and facilitated, off-the-record discussions among the collection of performing artists, promoters, association leaders, record label personnel, publicists, journalists, radio hosts, and more.

The program has operated since 2000, with over 400 graduates since that time. Participants have often spoken of the benefits that they feel they have obtained by attending, and not least the networking opportunities that come to the fore in the informal setting that Leadership Bluegrass cultivates. Many of the graduates attend occasional reunions with other attendees, taking advantage of the ability to meet closely with others outside of their own class.

The class picture (above) includes:

  • bottom row – Dede Wyland (artist), Leah James (IBMA), Annie Savage (Colorado Bluegrass Association), Janet Brightly (festival sponsorship developer), Lisa Husted (Grey Fox/Joe Val)
  • second row – Kathy Hanson (educator), Marian Leighton Levy (Rounder), Lee Stivers (Whiskey Rebellion festival)
  • third row – Sal Sauco (Rhode Island Bluegrass Association), Daniel Boner (ETSU)
  • fourth row – Dustin Boyd (Planet Bluegrass), Jocelyn Gold (Gold Heart), Darby Brandli (California Bluegrass Association), Kimber Ludiker (Della Mae)
  • fifth row – Patrice O’Neill (Wintergrass), Brad Kolodner (WAMU), Chris Joslin (IBMM), Angus Finnan (Folk Alliance), Lucas White (Bluegrass Heritage Foundation)
  • sixth row – Laurie Okun (Raleigh Convention Center), Tony Kamel (Wood & Wire)
  • seventh row – Devon Leger (Hearth Music), Kelsi Harrigill (Flatt Lonesome), Alan Bibey (Grasstowne), James Reams (Arizona Bluegrass Association), David Morris (Bluegrass Today)
Applications for Leadership Bluegrass 2017 will be accepted following this year’s World of Bluegrass convention in Raleigh, September 27 – October 1.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.