IBMA 2016 Momentum Award Nominees

IBMAThe International Bluegras Music Association has announced their nominees for the 2016 Momentum Awards. These are given to artists and industry professionals in the early stages of their careers, in the hope of providing them momentum in continuing to climb.

They are chosen through a series of committees following recommendations submitted to the organization. The winners will be announced at a special luncheon presentation on Wednesday, September 28 during the World of Bluegrass Conference in Raleigh, NC.

And the 2016 IBMA Momentum Award nominees are…

Event of the Year

  • Bright Box Theatre
  • Carolina In The Fall
  • Charm City Folk & Bluegrass Festival
  • 5thAnnual Frankfort Bluegrass Festival
  • Red Wing Roots Festival

Industry Involvement

  • Dustin Boyd
  • Brad Kolodner
  • Josh Trivett


  • Lori King
  • Stephen Mougin
  • Woody Platt
  • Deanie Richardson
  • Jon Weisberger


  • Charm City Junction
  • Lil’ Smokies
  • Mile Twelve
  • Mipso
  • Trout Steak Revival

Instrumentalist (3 are selected)

  • Erik Alvar
  • Paul Harrigill
  • Justin Hiltner
  • John Mailander
  • Tristan Scroggins
  • Billy Strings
  • Seth Taylor
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Jake Workman


  • Joey Lemons
  • Lindsay Lou Rilko
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Melody Walker

Congratulations and best of luck to all the nominees.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.