EBMA announces 2015 Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Awards

ebmaThe European Bluegrass Music Association, the unaffiliated counterpart to the International Bluegrass Music Association in the US, has announced the 2015 recipients of their Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Awards. This serves as a Hall of Fame of sorts, noting musicians, promoters, journalists, DJs, luthiers,and experts of various sorts who have made significant contributions to bluegrass music in Europe.

Chosen as 2015 Bluegrass Pioneers are French banjoist Jean-Marie Redon, Richard Weise of Germany’s Bear Family Records, and Czech banjoist and entrepreneur, Dalibor Cidlinsky. Also highlighted as Bluegrass Personality of the Year is Rainer Zellner who has been bringing US musicians to tour in Germany in the latter part of each year under his Bluegrass Jamboree banner.

The awards will be distributed this weekend at the Munich Bluegrass Festival in Germany, which will also host the EBMA’s European Bluegrass Gathering and Awards Show.

We are hoping to get photographs and more news from the festival and run them next week.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.