Allen Shelton reissue from Gusto

Gusto Records has released a retrospective instrumental collection from recently-departed banjo legend, Allen Shelton. At His Best contains 10 banjo tunes recorded over Shelton’s long career, all demonstrating his unique approach to the five string.

Though not familiar to many young players, Allen was hugely influential in the 1950s and 60s. He became known for his time with both Jim Eanes and Jim & Jesse, and for his joyous, bouncy and highly expressive banjo sound. No serious student of the banjo can consider themselves educated without a familiarity with Allen Shelton, and the music on this CD.

Included are the original recordings of:

  • Bending The Strings
  • Log Cabin In The Lane
  • Din E O (with Jim Eanes)
  • Shuckin’ The Corn
  • Round Town Gals
  • I Can’t Stop Loving You
  • Under The Double Eagle
  • Wildwood Flower
  • Whispering
  • Weeping Willow

At His Best is available wherever bluegrass recordings are sold, and in iTunes.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.