2016 SPBGMA National Bluegrass Awards

Sheraton staff attend to pulled down curtains during the 42nd annual SPBGMA National Bluegrass Awards (2/7/16) - photo by Rhonda VincentTonight’s 42nd annual SPBGMA Bluegrass Music Awards in Nashville didn’t come off completely without incident. About halfway through the show, MC Jeff Weaver from Rarely Herd took a tumble off the back of the stage, grabbing and pulling down several of the curtains in the process.

But the show must go on, and on it went. Presenters Danny and Andrea Roberts kept things moving along as hotel staff made some quick repairs, and things kept right on clicking.

And the 2016 winners are…

  • Promoter – D.A. Callaway
  • Radio Station – Sirius XM 61 -Bluegrass Junction
  • DJ – Kyle Cantrell-Sirius XM 61
  • Songwriter – Daryl Mosley
  • Album Of The Year – Runaway Train – Flatt Lonesome on Mountain Home Music Company
  • Bass Fiddle – Mickey Harris
  • Dobro – Tim Graves
  • Guitar – Josh Williams
  • Mandolin – Danny Roberts
  • Banjo – Kenny Ingram
  • Fiddle – Michael Cleveland
  • Female Vocalist – Rhonda Vincent
  • Male Vocalist – Russell Moore
  • Bluegrass Gospel Group – The Farm Hands
  • Bluegrass Vocal Group – The Farm Hands
  • Bluegrass Instrumental Group – Rhonda Vincent & the Rage
  • Bluegrass Band (overall) – Flatt Lonesome
  • Entertainer(s) – Rhonda Vincent
  • Song of the Year – The Last Parade by Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers on Rebel Records

Congratulations to all tonight’s winners.

Thanks again to our Special SPBGMA Correspondent Nick Newlon for this report, and be on the lookout for his upcoming album.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.