2014 Central Canadian Bluegrass Awards

Northern Bluegrass CommitteeThis past Saturday night (11/22) at the Deerhurst Resort in Huntsville, Ontario, winners were announced for the 2014 Central Canadian Bluegrass Awards.

These awards are organized and distributed by the Northern Bluegrass Committee, whose members, and members of other affiliated bluegrass clubs, select nominees and winners each year from among the top artists in Ontario.

The list of 2014 winners is as follows:

  • Disc Jockey -– David Blakney, CJAM FM, 99.1, Windsor/Detroit
  • Banjo Player -– Dan Campbell (Bluegrass Edition)
  • Fiddle Player -– Randy Morrison (Flatt River)
  • Bass Player – Richard Koop (Hard Ryde)
  • Guitar Player -– Steve Pitico (Jan Purcell & Pine Road)
  • Mandolin Player -– Bernie Caron (Winterline)
  • Dobro Player -– Ken Robichaud (Winterline)
  • Female Vocalist -– Joyce Gagnon (Winterline)
  • Male Vocalist -– Jim McNulty (Traditionally Wound)
  • Composer –- Melissa Sherman (Hard Ryde)
  • Promising Group -– SweetGrass
  • Instrumental Group -– Traditionally Wound
  • RecordingJust What I Need (Rhyme ‘n’ Reason)
  • Vocal Group -– Winterline
  • Gospel Group -– Rescue Junction
  • Overall Group -– Winterline
  • Entertainer -– Ken Robichaud (Winterline)

Also at this year’s awards show, Will Meadows with Hard Ryde was Retired with Honour from competition for the Mandolin award after having been voted in five times.

Congratulations to all the 2014 nominees and honorees!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.