• Sound Biscuit Records launches in Sevierville

    Dave Maggard, owner and operator of the Sound Biscuit Studios in Sevierville, TN, has announced the launch of his latest venture, Sound Biscuit Records. Maggard, who has a long history supporting bluegrass and acoustic artists with both studio engineering and live

  • Gary Trivette to Nick Chandler & Delivered

    Nick Chandler & Delivered have announced that Gary Trivette is the newest member of the group, playing bass. They play a driving style of traditional, North Carolina bluegrass, and record for Poor Mountain Records. Grassers will recognize Gary for his several

  • Dick Laird passes

    Dick Laird, whose 60-year run in bluegrass included a stint with Jimmy Martin, died Monday at his home in West York, PA. He was just two weeks short of his 75th birthday. He had been undergoing treatment for cancer. “It’s just devasting.

  • Introducing Greg Blake & Real Country

    Greg Blake, five times SPBGMA Guitarist of the Year, nominee for IBMA Male Vocalist of the year, and long time member of Jeff Scroggins and Colorado, has a new band called Real Country. Greg, originally from West Virginia and now

  • Renfro Proffitt passes

    ‘Renfro’ Proffitt, cross-picking guitar stylist and one-time member of Ralph Stanley’s Clinch Mountain Boys, passed away at the Community Hospice Care Center in Ashland, Kentucky, on Thursday, July 25, 2019. He was aged 69.  Troy Leen ‘Renfro’ Proffitt, born on July

  • Louisa Branscomb and Gonna Love Anyway

    Louisa Branscomb is no stranger to frontiers. Once called “always 20 years ahead of her time" by Lester Flatt manager, Lance LeRoy, she was spotted as a songwriter with promise by Mel Tillis at the tender age of 21. It’s

  • 2019 IBMA Award nominees announced

    At a press conference earlier this morning at the SiriusXM studios in Nashville, the International Bluegrass Music Association announced the final nominees for the 2019 International Bluegrass Music Awards, along with this year's Hall Of Fame Inductees and Distinguished Achievement Award