Hail to the Chief – of bluegrass!

President of BluegrassThe people have spoken, and selected Doyle Lawson as the President of Bluegrass.

By a strong plurality, Doyle edged out Del McCoury (37%-30%) in our Bluegrass Today poll on the question: Who would you vote for as the President of Bluegrass?

No other candidate came close, with the write-in category actually taking 3rd place. It included a number of votes for Ricky Skaggs, Russell Moore, Jamie Dailey, Phil Leadbetter, Steve Martin and Pete Wernick, among others.

In the true spirit of our poll, Lawson offered this brief acceptance speech:

“Well folks, I am just about speechless (and that’s not good for a President) but I want to thank everyone for this extinguished – I mean distinguished honor. And now I must be about my duties as your President, for there is much to be done, and I have quite a mess on my hands.

My intentions are to make all roads lead to Bluegrass music venues, all hit recordings be by a Bluegrass artist, all awards be won by Bluegrass artists, and mainstream Airplay across the board to be BLUEGRASS! That should keep me busy for the first term, and by the end of it I should have a new platform to stump with, should I decide to run for re-election.

And finally, look on the bright side, I am taking no salary for any of this! Thank you again, my fellow bluegrass music lovers, and Long Live this Music from the Heart!

Doyle Lawson
President of Bluegrass Music

Complete poll results follow:

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.