EBMA seeks New Direction 

| August 13, 2015 | 0 Comments

The recently re-constituted European Bluegrass Music Association (EBMA) board, with Irish banjo player living in Belgium Eugene O’Brien as the chairperson, has issued a mission statement indicating a new direction for organization. The EBMA came into being in February 2001 following the evolution of the […]


EBMA announces new Board of Directors

| March 24, 2015 | 0 Comments

The European Bluegrass Music Association has selected several new members for their Board of Directors. At their annual meeting at the Munich Bluegrass Festival earlier this month, four current members left the Board: Angelika Torrie, Rienk Janssen, Petr Brandejs and Christopher Howard-Williams. Their departures were anticipated, but […]


Photos from European Bluegrass Gathering

| March 18, 2015 | 0 Comments

Thanks to Stu Vincent, a newly-assigned member of the Board of Directors for the European Bluegrass Music Association, for sending along these photos from the presentation of awards at last weekend’s European Bluegrass Gathering during the Munich Bluegrass Festival in Germany. They are of the […]


EBMA announces 2015 Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Awards

| March 11, 2015 | 0 Comments

The European Bluegrass Music Association, the unaffiliated counterpart to the International Bluegrass Music Association in the US, has announced the 2015 recipients of their Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Awards. This serves as a Hall of Fame of sorts, noting musicians, promoters, journalists, DJs, luthiers,and experts of various […]


EBMA Pioneers and Personalities Project

| March 11, 2013 | 1 Comment

The first round of Bluegrass Pioneer and Personalities awards has been announced by the European Bluegrass Music Association. This special award category was created during 2012 by the EBMA to recognize the most influential figures in the European bluegrass community, both past and present. It […]


Niall Toner named EBMA European Bluegrass Personality of the Year

| March 7, 2013 | 2 Comments

Irish bluegrass balladeer Niall Toner has just been announced as the recipient of the first annual EBMA European Bluegrass Personality of the Year award. It will be presented on March 16 during the 5th annual Bluegrass Summit in Prague. This new award is part of the EBMA Bluegrass […]


On this Day #6 – Angelika Torrie

| November 6, 2012 | 0 Comments

On this day in 1968 ………. On November 6, 1968, Angelika Torrie was born. The long-time treasurer of the European Bluegrass Music Association (EBMA), was born and raised in Dornach, near Basel, Switzerland. She grew up in an environment where classical music was important. At […]


The I in IBMA

| September 26, 2011 | 2 Comments

The international bluegrass music community, the I in IBMA, will, as usual, have a very strong presence during the World of Bluegrass week in the Nashville Convention Center (NCC) this coming week (9/26-10/1). The European Bluegrass Music Association (EBMA) will have a booth in the […]


Blackjack wins at La Roche

| August 10, 2011 | 0 Comments

Lilly Pavlak has a piece up on the European Bluegrass Music Association blog about the prestigious band competition at this past weekend’s La Roche Bluegrass Festival in France. She reports that the winners for 2011 are: Blackjack (Czech Republic) Blueland (Slovakia) Lazy Tater (Netherlands) Blackjack […]


EWOB 2011 in photos

| June 11, 2011 | 1 Comment

Once again, Jan de Mooy has sent along a terrific gallery of photos from the European World of Bluegrass, which took place in Voorthuizen, The Netherlands last week. Like its counterpart in the US, the International Bluegrass Music Association, EWOB is organized and managed by […]